Over 150 fire scientists urge the western U.S. to forego fireworks this Fourth of July

June 30, 2021

The July 4th weekend in the United States this year will be like no other we've experienced in the nation's history. The extreme heat impacting the northwestern United States and Canada this week comes on top of an already record-setting drought across much of western North America. This is setting the stage for widespread fire activity.

We are gravely concerned about the potential for humans to accidentally start fires – from fireworks and other activities – by adding ignitions to this combination of historic drought, heat, and dry vegetation.

We urge people to skip the fireworks this July 4th and to avoid other activities that could start an unintentional wildfire. This will be critical for a safe Independence Day holiday, good practice for the rest of the fire season, and one way we can adapt to more safely live in increasingly flammable landscapes.

Name	Affiliation
Barbara Bomfim	Berkeley National Lab
Megan Dolman	Boise State University
Mojtaba Sadegh	Boise State University
Luke Montrose	Boise State University
Carson MacPherson-Krutsky	Boise State University
Chris Jakober	California Air Resources Board
Alan Tepley	Canadian Forest Service
Winslow Hansen	Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Megan Walsh	Central Washington University
Jennifer Lipton	Central Washington University
Rebecca Barnes	Colorado College
Andreas Wion	Colorado State University
Wade Tinkham	Colorado State University
Monique Rocca	Colorado State University
Courtney Schultz	Colorado State University
Sarah Hart	Colorado State University
Camille Stevens-Rumann	Colorado State University
Arianna Varuolo-Clarke	Columbia University
Caitlin Littlefield	Conservation Science Partners
Wynne Moss	Conservation Science Partners
Nathan Mietkiewicz	CoreLogic

John Kominoski Jennifer Russell Morey Burnham Norris Muth Dylan Darter Alex Jonko Mark Suchyta Dave McWethy Cathy Whitlock Bruce Maxwell Katie Epstein Tony Hartshorn Jack Brookshire Jane Mangold Ann Marie Reinhold Scott Powell Jacquelyn Shuman Erin Seekamp Peter Fulé Adam Young Michelle Mack Xanthe Walker Adrianna Foster Nathan Smith Brenda Guzman Meg Krawchuk Lisa Ellsworth Janean Creighton Kevin Bladon Erica Fleishman Thomas H. DeLuca John Bailey Erica Smithwick William Nanavati Andrés Holz Cody Evers Haley Hartenstine Carol Miller Alexandra D. Syphard Ben Poulter Jacob Bendix Jackie Delie Valerie Trouet Chris Guiterman **Beth Roskilly** Hannah Palmer

Florida International University Idaho Department of Lands Idaho State University Juniata College Kansas State University Los Alamos National Laboratory Michigan State University Montana State University National Center for Atmospheric Research North Carolina State University Northern Arizona University **Ocean Associates** Oregon citizen scientist Oregon State University Pennsylvania State University Portland State University Portland State University Portland State University Purdue University Retired San Diego State University Scientist Syracuse University The Ohio State University University of Arizona University of Arizona University of British Columbia University of California Davis

Daniel Swain Max Moritz Michael Gollner Morgan Tingley John Abatzoglou Jonathan Griffith Jennifer Balch Natasha Stavros Tania Schoennagel Thomas Veblen Stephens R. Chelsea Nagy Hannah Brenkert-Smith Ze'ev Gedalof Lynn Wells Diana Olson Heather Heward Penny Morgan Alistair Smith Timothy E. Link Grant Harley Joshua Hyde Jacquelyn Gill Philip Higuera Alexander L. Metcalf William Rice Kyra Wolf Brett Alan Miller Jennifer Fowler Cory Cleveland Marco P. Maneta Erin Landguth Jamie Peeler Beth Dodson **Kimberley Davis** Alan Townsend Kari Gunderson Elizabeth Covelli Metcalf Mark Hebblewhite Cara R. Nelson Curtis Noonan Laurie Yung Erin Semmens Victoria Dreitz Ben Colman Dane Scott

University of California Los Angeles University of California Santa Barbara University of California, Berkeley University of California, Los Angeles University of California, Merced University of Colorado Boulder University of Guelph, Canada University of Idaho University of Maine University of Montana University of Montana

Tony Ward University of Montana Alexandria Albers University of Montana Erim Gómez University of Montana Timber Burnette University of Montana Andrew Wilcox University of Montana Anna Klene University of Montana Katrina Mullan University of Montana Tyler Hoecker University of Montana Sarah J. Halvorson University of Montana Diana L. Six University of Montana Solomon Dobrowski University of Montana Marco Turco University of Murcia, Spain Lacey Hankin University of Nevada Reno Victoria Harris University of Nevada Reno University of Nevada, Reno Erin Hanan Adrian Rocha University of Notre Dame Michael Coughlan University of Oregon Patrick Bartlein University of Oregon Daniel Gavin University of Oregon Melissa Lucash University of Oregon David Bowman University of Tasmania, Australia Fernanda Santos University of Tennessee Sandro Bertolino University of Turin, Italy Andrea Brunelle University of Utah Susan Prichard University of Washington Olivia Sanderfoot University of Washington Meade Krosby University of Washington Ernesto Alvarado University of Washington Sarah Bassing University of Washington University of Wollongong, Australia Ross Bradstock Bryan Shuman University of Wyoming Barrie Chileen US Army Corps of Engineers Andrew Hudak **US** Forest Service Robert E. Keane **US Forest Service** Jessica Ulrich-Schad Utah State University Mark Brunson Utah State University Jordan W. Smith Utah State University Mike Badzmierowski Virginia Tech Mark Swanson Washington State University Jenna Knobloch Wildfire Program Manage Bill Gabbert Wildfire Today Jennifer Marlon Yale University

Updated July 2, 2021, 06:00 MT